Atomic Scientists

Atomic Scientists

TitleAtomic Scientists
View4th Anniversary Reunion, 1946 1
SeriesIII: Events
DescriptionAtomic scientists' reunion on the fourth Anniversary (1946) of the first controlled nuclear chain reaction of December 2, 1942. Pictured in front of Bernard A. Eckhart Hall at the University of Chicago, from left (3rd row): Norman Hilberry, Samuel Allison, Thomas Brill, Robert G. Nobles, Warren Nyer, and Marvin Wilkening; (2nd row): Harold Agnew, William Sturm, Harold Lichtenberger, Leona W. Marshall, and Leo Szilard; (1st row): Enrico Fermi, Walter H. Zinn, Albert Wattenberg, and Herbert L. Anderson.
Subject TermsAllison, Samuel King, 1900-1965 | Fermi, Enrico, 1901-1954 | Hilberry, Norman, 1899-1986 | Marshall, Leona Woods, 1919-1986 | Szilard, Leo, 1898-1964 | Zinn, Walter Henry, 1906-2000
PhotographerLife Magazine
Photograph Date1946
Physical FormatPhotographic prints; 22.7 x 19.5 cm
LocationUniversity of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
CollectionArchival Photographic Files
RepositoryUniversity of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center
Image Identifierapf3-00232

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.