Hutchins, Robert Maynard

Hutchins, Robert Maynard

Hutchins, Robert Maynard
Group 82
I: Individuals and Groups
Robert Maynard Hutchins (head of table, left), University of Chicago president (1929-1945) and chancellor (1945-1951), pictured here at a meeting of the Commission on Freedom of the Press, where he is serving as Commission Chairman. Commission members (from left): Arthur M. Schlesinger, professor of History at Harvard; Ruth A. Inglis, commission staff member; Robert Redfield, dean of the division of Social Sciences; William E. Hocking, professor of Philosophy emeritus at Harvard; Robert D. Leigh, commission director; Llewellyn White, commission assistant director; Zechariah Chafee, Jr., professor of Law at Harvard and commission vice-chairman; Kurt Riezler, professor of philosophy at the New School for Social Research; Beardsley Ruml, chairman of the board of the R. H. Macy and Company, Incorporated; Charles E. Merriam, professor of Political Science emeritus; George N. Shuster, president of Hunter College; Archibald MacLeish, former Assistant Secretary of the State.
Hutchins, Robert Maynard, 1899-1977 | MacLeish, Archibald, 1892-1982 | Merriam, Charles Edward, 1874-1953 | Ruml, Beardsley, 1894-1960 | Schlesinger, Arthur Meier, 1888-1965 | Boards (Organizations)
Photographic prints; 10.0 x 23.9 cm
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.