Allison, Samuel K.

Allison, Samuel K.

Allison, Samuel K.
Group 4
I: Individuals and Groups
Maria Goeppert Mayer (center), professor of Physics at the University of California, San Diego, and winner of the 1963 Nobel Prize in Physics for discoveries concerned with nuclear shell structure. Earlier in her career, Dr. Mayer worked at the Argonne National Laboratory, and taught in the department of Physics and the Institute for Nuclear Studies at the University of Chicago. She is pictured with Samuel K. Allison (third left), professor of Physics, and director of the Enrico Fermi Institute; Harold C. Urey (left), the Martin A. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of Chemistry; and Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (3rd row, right), the Morton D. Hull Distinguished Service Professor in the departments of Astronomy and Astrophysics. Other group members are unidentified.
Allison, Samuel King, 1900-1965 | Mayer, Maria Goeppert, 1906-1972 | Urey, Harold Clayton, 1893-1981 | Chandrasekhar, Subrahmanyan, 1910-1995 | Nobel Prize winners | Physicists
Photographic prints; 19.3 x 24.0 cm
Chicago, Illinois
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.