Inauguration, Kimpton

Inauguration, Kimpton

Inauguration, Kimpton
Ceremony, 1951 14
III: Events
Honorary degree recipients at the inauguration of University of Chicago chancellor Lawrence A. Kimpton. Among those pictured: Arthur Meier Schlesinger, Francis Lee Higginson Professor of American History, Harvard University; George Wiley Sherburn, Professor and Chairman, Division of Modern Languages, Harvard University; Robert Maynard Hutchins, Associate Director, Ford Foundation; Harold F. Cherniss, Professor, Institute for Advanced Study; Detlev W. Bronk, President, Johns Hopkins University; William Albert Nitze, Andrew MacLeish Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Romance Languages and Literatures, University of Chicago; Edwin Arthur Burtt, Susan Linn Sage Professor of Philosophy, Sage School of Philosophy, Cornell University.
Schlesinger, Arthur Meier, 1888-1965 | Sherburn, George Wiley, 1884-1962 | Cherniss, Harold Fredrik, 1904-1987 | Bronk, Detlev Wulf,1897-1975 | Nitze, William Albert, 1876-1957 | Burtt, Edwin Arthur, 1892-1989
Chicago Sun-Times
Photographic prints; 19.2 x 24.2 cm
University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.