Commission on the Freedom of the Press

Commission on the Freedom of the Press

Commission on the Freedom of the Press
Group 1
I: Individuals and Groups
Commission on Freedom of the Press, from left: Arthur M. Schlesinger (professor of history, Harvard University); Ruth A. Inglis (commission staff member); Robert Redfield (dean in the division of Social Sciences, University of Chicago); William E. Hocking (professor of philosophy, emeritus, Harvard University); Robert D. Leigh (commission director); Llewellyn White (commission assistant director); Robert M. Hutchins (chancellor, University of Chicago, commission chairman); Zechariah Chafee, Jr. (professor of law, Harvard University, commission vice-chairman); Kurt Riezler (professor of philosophy, New School for Social Research); Beardsley Ruml (board chairman R.H. Macy & Company); Charles E. Merriam (professor of political science, emeritus, University of Chicago); George N. Shuster (president, Hunter College); Archibald MacLeish (assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs under Franklin D. Roosevelt).
Hutchins, Robert Maynard, 1899-1977 | Schlesinger, Arthur Meier, 1888-1965 | Inglis, Ruth A., born 1912 | Merriam, Charles Edward, 1874-1953 | Hocking, William Ernest, 1873-1966 | Commission on Freedom of the Press
Photographic prints; 10.0 x 23.9 cm
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.