Eckhart Hall

Eckhart Hall

Eckhart Hall
Exterior, from South 10
II: Buildings and Grounds
A famous block-long line of scientific laboratories, devoted to discovering the secrets of the atom and the molecule. In these four structures, facing the main quadrangle at the University of Chicago, are the laboratories of many of the country's leading physicists and chemists. In the foreground is the new Bernard A. Eckhart Hall; second is Ryerson Physical Laboratory, seat of research for America's three winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics, Michelson, Mulliken, and Compton; third is Kent Chemical Laboratory; and facing the end of the walk, the new George Herbert Jones Laboratory.
Bernard A. Eckhart Hall
Michelson, Albert Abraham, 1852-1931 | Compton, Arthur Holly, 1892-1962 | Mulliken, Robert Sanderson, 1896-1986 | College students
Capes Photo
Photographic prints; 23.8 x 18.7 cm
Klauder, Charles Zeller, 1872-1938
1118-1132 E. 58th Street | University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.