South Parks

South Parks

South Parks
Unidentified 1
II: Buildings and Grounds
In 1869, a site in Hyde Park, Chicago was designated South Park and divided into eastern and western sections. Park commissioners invited the public to participate in the official naming, and by 1881, the eastern portion was named in honor of Andrew Jackson and the western division for George Washington, respectively Jackson and Washington Parks. Landscape designers of the project included: Fredrick Law Olmsted Jr., John Charles Olmsted, and Charles Eliot.
Parks (Recreation areas) | Lagoons (Bodies of water)
Cyanotypes; 7.9 x 10.2 cm
Olmsted, Frederick Law, 1822-1903
Hyde Park, Chicago, Illinois
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.