Atomic Scientists

Atomic Scientists

Atomic Scientists
10th Anniversary Reunion, 1952 1
III: Events
Reunion of atomic scientists on the 10th Anniversary (1952) of the first controlled nuclear fission chain reaction, December 2, 1942, at the University of Chicago. Speakers on the platform: Lawrence A. Kimpton (university chancellor, standing), Enrico Fermi, and Arthur H. Compton (seated). In the audience, from the right, first row: Samuel K. Allison, Herbert L. Anderson, Crawford H. Greenewalt, Leona Woods Marshall, Walter H. Zinn, Leo Szilard, Norman Hilberry; second row: George L. Weil, Harold F. Spedding, Philip G. Koontz, Robert G. Nobles, Wilcox Overbeck, Volney C. Wilson, and Leo Seren; third row: Thomas Brill, Stewart A. Fox, Darrol K. Froman, W. Rudolph Kanne, Herbert E. Kubitschek, George D. Monk, Jr. Not seen in the picture: Gerald S. Pawlicki, and Hugh M. Barton, Jr.
Anderson, Herbert Lawrence, 1914-1988 | Compton, Arthur Holly, 1892-1962 | Hilberry, Norman, 1899-1986 | Marshall, Leona Woods, 1919-1986 | Szilard, Leo, 1898-1964 | Zinn, Walter Henry, 1906-2000
Chicago Daily News
Photographic prints; 18.3 x 22.8 cm
University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.