Compton, Arthur Holly

Compton, Arthur Holly

Compton, Arthur Holly
Group 4
I: Individuals and Groups
Eleven men, among the leaders in the development of atomic energy, were photographed in 1946 at a dinner in honor of Arthur Holly Compton’s inauguration as Chancellor of Washington University in St. Louis. From left, seated: Major General Leslie Groves; Vannevar Bush; Enrico Fermi; Brigadier General Kenneth Nichols; George Pegram; Lyman Briggs; (standing) Charles Thomas; James Conant; Chancellor Compton; Eger V. Murphree; and, Crawford H. Greenewalt. Thousands of other scientists and engineers made key contributions.
Compton, Arthur Holly, 1892-1962 | Bush, Vannevar, 1890-1974 | Fermi, Enrico, 1901-1954 | Pegram, George, 1911-1974 | Murphree, Eger Vaughan, 1898-1962 | Greenewalt, Crawford H., 1902-1993
Photographic prints; 19.8 x 24.4 cm
Archival Photographic Files
University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center

View information about rights and permissions.

View information about ordering reproductions.